In Which Kia Preens A Little

So for those of you who haven’t been paying attention (and seriously, why not?  I’m FUNNY AND CHARMING AND CLEVER, for the love! Sweet mercy.), I have been sort of driven by the acquisition of nerdpoints.  In fact, it has absorbed the majority of my WoW playtime over the last, say… two months?  More? At this point, I can’t even remember.

So you can imagine the major sense of accomplishment I felt late last night when I was able to take THIS screenshot:

HELL YEAH.

\o/

/danceparty

I was slightly saddened by the fact that I got most of my last hundred points via Dirty Stinking PvP.  I didn’t really MEAN to, it just sort of happened.  I wanted to keep working toward [Hail To The Chef!], and I realized that at some point, I was going to have to deal with… [Dinner Impossible].

Kia’s Brain:  Dun dun DUN!!

Kia: EXACTLY.

Now truthfully, it is not actually necessary to PLAY the battleground.  You don’t even have to enter it.  You can get the achievement just by dropping the feast right at the gate before it opens.  However, I decided it was sort of a cheap trick to queue up, drop a feast, and then /afk out, leaving 9-39 other people in the lurch, not to mention getting the 15 minute deserter buff every time.  Not that my presence in the battleground would necessarily be of much benefit, you understand, but perhaps in some small way, I could deliver a show of solidarity with my brothers- and sisters-in-arms, determined to ward off the Dirty Stinking Hordies in such key places as Eye of the Storm, located smack dab in the middle of an expansion that everyone works really really hard to get through as soon as possible, because after five years, Outlands is starting to look a bit ragged around the edges, you know what I’m saying?

Kia’s Brain: Your point.  Make it, already.  For the love.

So instead of tucking tail and running, I (in my opinion) very courageously did things like stand all by myself at Lumber Mill and watch my teammates just barely win Arathi Basin, although not just-barely-enough to get [We Had It All Along *cough*], as we won by sixty points instead of fifty.  Stupid Horde, losing Gold Mine right there at the end.  Geez.

So I finished up [Dinner Impossible] as well as part two (three?  I can’t remember.  The thirty-recipe one.) of [The Northrend Gourmet] and was left sitting puzzled and sad at exactly 9000 achievement points.

>.>

<.<

You need 9001 for the feat.  Damnit.  Jerks.

So I pondered.  There didn’t seem to be anything that I could do fairly quickly and easily to get that last point.

Unless…

Unless…

…unless I could win a Wintergrasp, which happened to be going right as I looked.

Coincidence?  Nay!  It was, indeed, fate.

/deep breath, queue for Wintergrasp

There were two of us in there.  Against about… five Horde, that I could tell.

We barely barely managed it.  There I stood, bravely standing in front of the last door, already sporting a large hole in it, alone against the might of three siege vehicles barreling down on me.  It was very heroic.  I heard the orchestra crescendo behind the St. Crispin’s Day speech.  I thought briefly about shouting, “THIS IS SPARTA!” but, y’know, it was late and my roommates were asleep, so I just stood there, stalwart and unyielding as marble.

That is, until the damn Horde killed me.  Again.

Then I sweated out the last 45 seconds, 30 of which I spent at the graveyard waiting for the Spirit Healer to get off her damn ass and rez me already for the love,  and was duly rewarded by a SIGNIFICANTLY satisfying bit of spam, which sadly, nobody saw as there was no one online at the time.  Bummer.

So my second nerdpoint achievement (the first one being “beat Achloryn“) has been attained, and now it gets quite a bit harder. The third one is “break into the guild’s Top 10″.  The person in the #10 spot has well over 10k.

I’m starting to think I’m going to end up doing more PvP if I want to get there.  I don’t know how to say “Yay!” sarcastically enough.  Yay.

This entry was posted in ALL THE NERDPOINTS, He's Dead, Jim, Kia's Brain. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Which Kia Preens A Little

  1. Esmerellda says:

    Kiiiiiia. I will be MORE than happy to help you PvP. And get those nerdpoints.

  2. Grats!

    You know 9000 isn’t over 9000 right? ;)

    Yes, you will have to do a ton of PvP to round out your points, so I suggest you get a spec specifically for it and as much gear as you can get your hands on. The difference it makes to your enjoyment of PvP when you start engaging in the battle rather than just being cannon fodder is massive.

    I still have Loremaster on my list which is a huge number of points. My wife has been taunting me, because while we now get a zone by zone hand holding guide to the achievement… she had it back when you had that daunting whole of continent achievement to get. Finding those last quests in Kalimdor was a total pain.

  3. Cainman says:

    Congrats Kia! Keep up the nerdpoint hunting.

Leave a Reply

